VC slows down OneNote and crashes Outlook

Hi, I am new to Voice Computer and I’m having some trouble. Voice Computer slows down my computer significantly.

When I am dictating in OneNote sometimes it takes a minute or more for speech to appear. I use OneNote a lot, and when I “show intags” there are usually 250-300 tags appearing.

In Outlook 2016 (the desktop version), whenever I reply to an email, the words type out very slowly. If I add any names to the reply To: field, Outlook crashes and restarts. I don’t have this problem when Voice Computer is not open. I’ve gone through Microsoft’s troubleshooting, clearing the Outlook cache, and the only thing that helps is completely turning off Voice Computer.

Any suggestions on how to make this better?

Best regards,
Quathy

Hi Quathy,

Apart from the speed of your processor and the amount of other applications or processes running on your computer it's important to disable the commands in VoiceComputer that you are not planning to use.
Say "configure voice computer" and choose: 1. Enable| Disable Voice Computer Commands.
Uncheck everything you are not planning to use, but make sure to leave the Intags and My Intag Commands checked. After that you will have to restart speech.

Do you happen to use KnowBrainer as well? Because it doesn't always play well with Voice Computer.

About OneNote 2016. Yes, I noticed some (short) delays as well (not in Outlook though). In this case it's probably wiser to create overlays (MyIntags). These are static tags and usually respond very fast.