Outlook category shortcuts

I’m new to Microsoft Outlook 2007 having just switched over from Thunderbird to accommodate Dragon NaturallySpeaking. Anyway, yesterday I was creating some voice shortcuts using keystrokes so I could categorize my messages with one command. In the course of doing this, I noticed that I could only do this for three different categories. The reason for this is because having more than three categories would require seven or more keystrokes. The VoicePower voice shortcut editor only allows six keystrokes. Then I noticed Outlook gives you the option of assigning shortcuts to these different categories using the keys CTRL+F2 through CTRL+F12. So I thought, “Problem solved!” (And, as a bonus, the command would probably execute more quickly because there are way less keystrokes) Alas, none of these keys are an option in the voice shortcut editor (at least that I could see). This isn’t a big deal as I can say “categorize” and then ,which is only two commands. And to be honest, I don’t really use more than three categories on a regular basis. I just thought I’d point it out.Smile

I just did a little more testing with these category commands. Right now, I’ve made one voice shortcut to mark a message as “important”. To execute this command I have to say “important command”. If I use a stopwatch and start speaking immediately after I start timing myself, this voice shortcut takes between 4.7 seconds and 5.3 seconds to finish executing.