Could not start API for chrome extension

Hi,

I’m a brand-new user of the voicecomputer. I got it mainly because of the extensive numbering plans that allows me better hands-free computing. I’m already a relatively adept user of unimacro and vocola, and I use these for most of my grammars. However, since they are still lacking in hands-free options, I opted to complement everything using voicecomputer.

I’m still learning, and I was eager to try out the chrome extension. However, whenever I start up voicecomputer I get the following message “Could not start API for chrome extension”. I have installed the extension in chrome, but the command “show numbers” does nothing. I suspect this has something to do with the aforementioned error message :slight_smile:

Here’s hoping you have some suggestions.

What version of VoiceComputer are you using? (Say, Show VoiceComputer version?)

Your version of the Chrome extension is 5.55, correct?

The version is 12.79.2, and the version of the chrome extension is 0.55.5.

Hi Ron,

My version of Chrome extension is 4.92. How do I get the 5.5 version?

Gary,

Try the following:

1. First, open Google Chrome.

2. If you see the Red, Orange, or Yellow square for the “Numbers Engine” (Chrome Extension), right-click on it. You should see a list of options the top one being “NumbersEngine”. If you don’t, let us know, and we’ll send you a link. If you see that option, click on it. This will open a new tab with the “NumbersEngine” select screen (dialog).

1. Note that at the right of the screen shown above you should have a Green button that reads “ADDED TO CHROME”. Click on the Settings button in the upper right-hand corner (three parallel lines). DO NOT close the screen shown above. From the settings dialog go to Tools | Extensions.