The Voice Computer Forum visit our website at www.voicecomputer.com

Forum Home Forum Home > Speech Recognition > VoiceComputer
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Selecting Excel cells past A to Z
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Selecting Excel cells past A to Z

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Future_Ethics View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Dec 2016
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Points: 32
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Future_Ethics Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Selecting Excel cells past A to Z
    Posted: 15 Sep 2018 at 5:17pm
I'm able to select Excel cells in columns A to Z with no problem, but I haven't found a way of saying "select sell AB 5" that will get it to select that cell.
Back to Top
RonK View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 07 Jan 2010
Points: 838
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RonK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 2018 at 12:12pm
Correct, Dragon's select commands only work for columns a-z.

VoiceComputer has a 
"move to cell <alphaExcel2><alphaExcel2><Num1Excel2>" command.
for example, Move to cell alpha bravo 5.
Then "Select cell"

However, the command is commented out (disabled) by default. (we comment out many commands because using too many commands slows down Dragon.

You can uncomment the command by searching for it in the command file.

The VC commands files are in:
C:\ProgramData\VoiceTeach\VoiceComputer\Commands\Custom

The command file is office2016.xml, or office2013.xml, ..., depending on your version of office.


The command looks like this in the command file:

<!-- "move to cell H R 29" commands

      <command type="legacy-script">
        <name><![CDATA[move to cell <alphaExcel2><alphaExcel2><Num1Excel2>]]></name>
        <actions>
          <action><![CDATA[wait 200]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[menu1$ = mid$(_arg1, 0, instr(_arg1, "\") - 1)]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[menu2$ = mid$(_arg2, 0, instr(_arg2, "\") - 1)]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[num1$ = mid$(_arg3, 0, instr(_arg3, "\") - 1)]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[sendkeys "{ctrl+g}"]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[wait 300]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[sendkeys menu1$]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[wait 100]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[sendkeys menu2$]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[wait 100]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[sendkeys num1$]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[wait 1000]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[sendkeys "{enter}"]]></action>
        </actions>
      </command>
-->

to activate the command, move the "-->" to the top of command so it looks like this:
and then save the file.

<!-- "move to cell H R 29" commands
-->
      <command type="legacy-script">
        <name><![CDATA[move to cell <alphaExcel2><alphaExcel2><Num1Excel2>]]></name>
        <actions>
          <action><![CDATA[wait 200]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[menu1$ = mid$(_arg1, 0, instr(_arg1, "\") - 1)]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[menu2$ = mid$(_arg2, 0, instr(_arg2, "\") - 1)]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[num1$ = mid$(_arg3, 0, instr(_arg3, "\") - 1)]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[sendkeys "{ctrl+g}"]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[wait 300]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[sendkeys menu1$]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[wait 100]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[sendkeys menu2$]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[wait 100]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[sendkeys num1$]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[wait 1000]]></action>
          <action><![CDATA[sendkeys "{enter}"]]></action>
        </actions>
      </command>





Ron

VoiceComputer Developer
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.01
Copyright ©2001-2014 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.141 seconds.