The Voice Computer Forum visit our website at www.voicecomputer.com

Forum Home Forum Home > Speech Recognition > VoiceComputer
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - The numbers 1 to 4
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The numbers 1 to 4

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
Nimbargent View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 07 Jan 2018
Location: England
Points: 71
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Nimbargent Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: The numbers 1 to 4
    Posted: 17 Apr 2018 at 8:04am
I am a heavy dictator, and I dictate my business/legal text thoughtfully and slowly. I know that Dragon insists that its users should speak fluently and continuously.

Unfortunately and irritatingly, the system is reacting to heard words one, two,  three and four:

1, one, won
2, two, too, to
3, three, free
4, four, for, fore

I have tried to create an Intag-free zone within the Speech Productivity Dictation Boxes but this is only partly successful. Rob's new box, unfortunately, attracts the worst four Intags possible.

I am now switching off Intags during my business hours.

Is there any way to suppress Intags 1 to 4?   
Back to Top
Speech1965 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 28 Jan 2016
Points: 150
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Speech1965 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 2018 at 5:44pm
Stephen,

I see that the Large version attracts even more (five of them LOL)

You can always remove specific numbers from your displaynumbers XML (in the <List> 1to300 section) but that's not advised because you will surely need them for other purposes.

I can easily create a button and link-free Dictation Box version that won't attract any Intags at all.
Let me know if you'd be interested in that.

Rob


Edited by Speech1965 - 17 Apr 2018 at 5:45pm
http://www.speechproductivity.eu
Next-Generation Dictation Boxes and more
Back to Top
Nimbargent View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 07 Jan 2018
Location: England
Points: 71
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Nimbargent Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Apr 2018 at 4:34am
Thank you, Rob, for your efforts to create an Intag-free zone for dictation.

When you type many thousands of business-critical words per week as I do, it is frustrating when your work flies off the screen because you have spoken one of the lower numbers. Personally, I would like 1 to 9 to be banned (-: 

Dictation is best carried out in a "sand pitted" area, and that's where your Speech Productivity solutions can work really nicely in conjunction with Voicecomputer.

P.S. Numbered lists and clause numbers also cause problems where there is any hesitation.


 





Edited by Nimbargent - 18 Apr 2018 at 7:22am
Back to Top
RonK View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 07 Jan 2010
Points: 810
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RonK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Apr 2018 at 8:52am
There's another (simpler?) solution for your problem. 

When you wish to dictate 1-4, (or 1-9), you can say, "type 1", "type 2", etc., instead of just saying, "1"...




Ron

VoiceComputer Developer
Back to Top
Nimbargent View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 07 Jan 2018
Location: England
Points: 71
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Nimbargent Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Apr 2018 at 6:02am
Originally posted by RonK RonK wrote:

There's another (simpler?) solution for your problem. 

When you wish to dictate 1-4, (or 1-9), you can say, "type 1", "type 2", etc., instead of just saying, "1"...





Thank you, Ron, but this doesn't help with the following:

1, one, won
2, two, too, to
3, three, free
4, four, for, fore

I think, however, that I have come up with a few ways of temporarily isolating the Intag functionality from typed text. It may sound like a minor issue, but it's quite infuriating when work suddenly disappears from the screen because a high occurrence ordinary word is interpreted as an Intag.



Back to Top
ronAdmin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 31 Dec 2006
Points: 58
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ronAdmin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Apr 2018 at 9:14am
There is another way around this. 

Use Dragon's dictation mode.  "Dictation Mode On", "Dictation mode off".


Back to Top
Nimbargent View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 07 Jan 2018
Location: England
Points: 71
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Nimbargent Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jun 2018 at 1:19am
This remains a very serious problem for me with Voicecomputer. For certain business work, I am having to switch Voicecomputer off. 

1, one, won
2, two, too, to
3, three, free
4, four, for, fore

I may, for instance, use the word "to" in a sentence and my work disappears completely.
I can set Rob's dictation boxes up to provide an Intag-free dictation zone, but outside of a safe environment the reaction to the lower numbers can be infuriating.

This isn't helped by the lower numbers being assigned quite often to the most "dangerous" tags. 

Is there any simple way of starting the numbers at say 10? 
Back to Top
RonK View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 07 Jan 2010
Points: 810
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RonK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jun 2018 at 7:59am
Is there any simple way of starting the numbers at say 10? 

Yes. We use xml command files that can be edited. I'll attach an edited file as soon as I test it for a while.

Ron

VoiceComputer Developer
Back to Top
Speech1965 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 28 Jan 2016
Points: 150
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Speech1965 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jun 2018 at 8:42am
Simply removing the numbers 1-4 (or more) from the List section in the displaynumbers XML (at the bottom) seems to work. The numbers 1-4 still appear but they don't respond anymore.

First close VoiceComputer and then go to C:\ProgramData\VoiceTeach\VoiceComputer\Commands\Custom

Open the displaynumbers XML with Notepad. Now you can remove the first 1-4 lines (or more) from the List section in the XML file. When done simply save the file.

It's probably wise to back up the original displaynumbers XML to a safe place before performing this operation.

Rob


Edited by Speech1965 - 08 Jun 2018 at 8:44am
http://www.speechproductivity.eu
Next-Generation Dictation Boxes and more
Back to Top
Nimbargent View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 07 Jan 2018
Location: England
Points: 71
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Nimbargent Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jun 2018 at 9:00am
Originally posted by RonK RonK wrote:

Is there any simple way of starting the numbers at say 10? 

Yes. We use xml command files that can be edited. I'll attach an edited file as soon as I test it for a while.


I really appreciate this. I think that it is because my dictation is so vast that I am hit so frequently. 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.01
Copyright ©2001-2014 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.141 seconds.